Architectural ‘Oscars’ open for entries

The applications process been opened for the World Architecture Festival Awards, which is due to be held in November in Singapore.

The event is described as the biggest architectural awards show in the world, which is why it is known as the “Oscars of architecture”. Entries will be received from across the globe, including from architects in North Wales and other areas of the UK. The organisers expect to receive around 750 applications, with a shortlist created for prizes within 31 categories.

The entries that are shortlisted will vie for the prizes during the opening two days of the event. On the third and final day, the winners of the categories will present their projects again to the judges. They will decide upon the winners of the Future Project, World Landscape, and Completed Building of the Year awards. There will also be three additional prizes given out, for the use of wood, small projects and the utilising of colour, which will be judged and awarded by specialised juries.

Paul Finch, the director of the World Architecture Festival, commented:

“This is an exciting time for the Awards, with no predictions possible about this year’s result. Since our launch in 2008 with our founder sponsor Grohe, we have had entries from about 70 countries round the world, and winners of every shape, size and type.”

Each year new talent is uncovered. In 2014, a21, a small practice based in Vietnam, won the completed building award for a community structure that it designed in Ho Chi Minh City.

The prizes will be presented on the 6th November at a gala dinner.

Posted by Mark
May 14, 2015

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment