RIBA aims to encourage architects to volunteer in Nepal

Recently, the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) announced that it was looking for designers to help provide support and aid to the people of Nepal.

In a press release, the organisation explained that there were several ways for architects to (more…)

RIBA announces its regional winners

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has chosen the eight winners of its North West Regional Awards for 2015.

This year, 15 projects made the shortlist, with the region’s Building of the Year Award going to (more…)

Planning permission for new homes in Cheshire secured

After a successful appeal, thirty new homes will be built on a four-acre plot of land in Nether Peover.

Initially, planning permission was denied for the (more…)

Mixed results for construction industry in Q1

Analysis agency Glenigan’s latest report has revealed that planning approval for projects is up, but building starts are lower than during the first quarter of 2014.

The number of large developments that received detailed planning permission in the (more…)

A glance at the key changes proposed in the 2015 draft CDM regulations

The Health and Safety Executive (HSE) has recently published its draft guidance on the Construction Design and Management (CDM) regulations for 2015, which are set to come into effect on April 6th, 2015.

The new guidelines will have an impact on the work of all architects, whether they are (more…)

Five buildings that have changed the face of England

England’s architecture often reflects the country’s long and complex history. From ancient Druidic remnants such as Stonehenge to modern-day wonders like the Gherkin, architectural styles in England have also included Roman, Gothic, Georgian, and Victorian influences.

The head of English Heritage, Dr Simon Thurley, has compiled a list of (more…)

German architect to be honoured posthumously

Frei Otto, who designed the roof of the Olympic Stadium in Munich, is to be awarded The Pritzker Prize.

The German architect was told in January that he had won the award, but he (more…)