RIBA awards honour large and small projects

A number of architectural projects have been named as winners of the RIBA awards 2014.

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) chose to honour 44 buildings in the UK and 12 from other parts of Europe.

A number of relatively small-scale projects are included among the winners, prompting Stephen Hodder, the RIBA president, to point out that:

“…exceptional architecture can be found anywhere … with any budget.”

The winner of the award for the most significant contribution to architecture in Britain, otherwise known as the Stirling Prize, will be chosen from the RIBA award winners, with a shortlist to be announced in mid-July.

RIBA awards have been bestowed upon some famous London landmarks, including the Olympic aquatics centre, designed by Zaha Hadid Architects, Renzo Piano Building Workshop’s The Shard, and King’s Cross station, which was revamped by John McAslan & Partners.

Elsewhere in the UK, Birmingham Library and the new extension at the Manchester School of Art have also won awards, as have the Mary Rose Museum in Portsmouth and the redeveloped Everyman Theatre in Liverpool.

European RIBA award winners can be found in France, in the form of the Marseilles harbour redesign by Foster + Partners, and Holland, where an Amsterdam metro station received a decorative overhaul courtesy of the Maccreanor Lavington architectural firm.

Although none of the RIBA awards went to projects in Wales this year, those who are planning buildings in the north of the country will find that there are some excellent architects in North Wales who will be able to produce prize-worthy designs.

Posted by Adam Lloyd
June 26, 2014

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment